Flashback to Gran Canaria

Sunshine. Beach. My best friend. 2 weeks.

This was Gran Canaria!

  

 

This will forever be one of my favourite holidays!

I can’t lie though: it was a difficult couple of days trying to find our feet with the place… Adapting to a new culture is always a challenge, but for some reason it took us a good few days to get used to it there. I think it was just daunting to think that we had 2 whole weeks to spend in such a tiny place, but living the Spanish lifestyle actually turned out to be such fun! The majority of the island spoke amazing English (which made me feel so embarrassed as my Spanish is limited) and the locals are so friendly, which made our stay easy.

In all honesty, our hotel wasn’t absolutely fantastic to be honest and the area was quite limiting… I guess there isn’t a great deal to do in Gran Canaria. But now we’ve aired out those bits, let talk about the positives shall we? If you’re looking for a low-key holiday with a chilled-out lifestyle, this place is perfect!

We were lucky to be a 2 minute walk away from a great beach, which is where we spent pretty much all of our days… The next town adjacent to ours was very lively and had interesting things to do in the evenings, so our daily routine was to get up and have breakfast late (normally in a restaurant down the road), go to the beach, go back our room for lunch, chill out for the afternoon and then back out again in the evening. It was painfully obvious that we were tourists in the beginning as we were so pale compared to the locals (they thought we were from Germany at first…) but it wasn’t too long before we got a tan!

My favourite part was visiting the beautiful sand dunes – Meghan and I spent an entire evening just playing and taking photos here after the sun went down. It honestly felt like we were in Dubai! You cant fault the beaches in Gran Canaria, nor the picture perfect sunsets.

I was so sad to leave the place behind… And the cheesy waiters in our most visited restaurant. They made me laugh!

All in all: I had a perfect 2 weeks with the stellar company of my best friend. Roll on the next holiday!

Leave a Reply

