A Kid No More

Processed with VSCO with b1 presetLong gone is my little brother who followed me around like a puppy in the back garden, desperate to join in on any make believe play. Long gone is the kid with the crooked teeth smile, the messy blonde hair and the tangle of limbs that tried to copy mine doing flips on the trampoline. The kid who hated any form of bugs and was kicking a ball with two left feet from such a tender young age.

I lean on you now and I’m still shocked by how much you’ve grown in the past couple of months. Shocked by how your head nearly reaches mine, when it’s only a matter of time (and a growth spurt) until you shoot up past me. We have intelligent conversations now. One’s of future plans, hopes, dreams and of life after school; where you listen to my stories and fire back with your own equally amusing tales. It’s even a different relationship between us now that we’re older: It’s becoming more equal, slightly more grown up and full of even more laughter.

You have your entire life ahead of you and you are forever being told that the choices you make now will matter for the rest of your life. You are preached that your GCSE choices and grades will affect you, that your college choice affects you and even the friends you make will affect you. Some kids get overwhelmed by all of this, but not you. You’ve always seemed so sure of yourself, so laid back in the comfort of your own decisions that all of these seemingly important life choices should just fall into place around you. We are very alike in our relaxed attitudes to life, but you’re the one who can adapt to anything you choose. I find myself jealous of this ability to be confident in who you are.

All I hope for you is that you land on both feet when diving head first after something you want. I hope for you to always be content in yourself and in the decisions you make. That you’ll never lose your cheeky, chilled out attitude and that you still always have my back, just as I will always have yours.  Finding your place in this messed up world has always seemed simple for you, and I hope you will never lose that.

14 years gone by and still a lifetime of stories left for you to go… I’ll always look forward to  hearing them!

Leave a Reply

