Saying Goodbye To 2016

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Why don’t we sit down, enjoy a cup of hot chocolate and be honest with each other: 2016 was pretty rubbish, wasn’t it?

I think everyone has struggled with 2016. Struggled through all the deaths of favourite celebrities, all of the politics, the heartache of terrorism and the frightening reality that the world is still not always a safe place to be in. Then of course, Brexit happened and Trump happened but at various points it seemed that somehow we got through it all, and maybe we were going to make it…

But then for me personally, 2016 has also been the year that I’ve lost two most beloved family members to cancer. This year has probably been my hardest year so far! Cancer is a touchy subject for me as it’s taken four of my grandparents and in it’s wake left behind far too much devastation and sadness.

But through all of the darkness of these memories there are huge rays of light shining to remind me that this year hasn’t all been bad: I’ve had some amazing experiences through my work this year. I’ve taken big steps with my boyfriend, from living together and making our plans to go travelling next year! My friends are still glorious. My families have continued making happy memories and making the most of life in every way possible… I think it’s only in times of devastation that you learn the truth strength of human beings and how resilient we really are.

So, now I think it’s time to shed it all! When the New Year arrives I know I will be all too ready to wish 2016 a farewell, but also ready to embrace the story that 2017 will bring. I think it’s something that we all need to do: shake off the bad memories and focus on making new, bright and happy ones.

Here’s to 2017!

*

For last years words belong to last years language,
and next years words wait another voice.
And to mark an end, is to make a beginning.”
– T.S Eliot

Leave a Reply

