Choosing To Do Your Own Thing

IMG_0336

Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about about how we all need to stop comparing ourselves to other people…

I’m guilty of looking through Instagram and forgetting that I’m only really  looking at the highlights reel. It’s so easy to flick through and think about how “she has perfect hair” and “I wish I had her clothes” or that “his travelling adventures are amazing”. It’s easy to compare your life and your journey to theirs, because they’re laying it out for you to see!

It’s not just online people that I compare myself to either – I compare myself to my friends and families. I think about how “she’s having a baby” and how “they’re buying a house” or even  “she’s living life to the full without any commitments.” It’s especially easy to compare yourselves to the people you’re familiar with, because you think that you know everything there is to know about them but in reality you’re still only thinking about their highlights.  You can forget that they still have their bad days too!

I’m not saying that we should do away with these “highlights reels” because we shouldn’t. We should celebrate our own stories and successes but we should also celebrate each other’s. I think that this world needs more support and uplifting rather than dragging ourselves/each  other down just because they don’t match your own expectations.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that it’s ok to not follow the crowd. It’s easy to forget that what works for others doesn’t necessarily works for you – and it’s easy to forget that you are on your OWN journey, one whose paths, joys, pains and stories are uniquely different  from anyone else’s.

In short, it’s perfectly ok to do your own thing.

Leave a Reply

